hobbs public
library
Research Databases
If prompted for a password, enter library card number.
Business & Daily Life
Kanopy is now available, stream TV shows, movies, documentaries and more. You will need your library card number and pin to set up your Kanopy account. Please call the library with any questions, (575) 397-9328.
Hoopla provides access to audiobooks, ebooks, music, movies, magazines and tv shows.
A fresh and easy way to borrow and read from your library.
Free download and streaming of over 9.5 Million+ songs. 15,000+ Music Videos with new music available the same day it shows up on I-Tunes or in the stores. New content added daily.
Online resources including live interview coaching, resume templates, resume lab for constructive comments and tips, career assessments, and much more.
Learn a new language. Rosetta Stone offers courses in 30 languages, from the most commonly spoken (such as English, Spanish and Mandarin) to the less prominent (including Swahili, Swedish and Tagalog).
Includes sample business plans, how-to guides, journal articles and web sites.
Collection of databases that provide free 24/7 access to resources such as newspapers, magazine and journal articles, and e-books provided by the New Mexico State Library.
The online resume builder that lets you create professional-quality resumes in three quick and simple steps.
Children/Young Adults & Students
Educate Station - Full curriculum Pre-K through Fifth Grade
Brainfuse HelpNow - Online homework help with live tutoring from experts, practice tests, skill-building exercises, videos, writing lab, virtual study rooms, and more.
Kids National Geographic - Explore amazing adventures in science, nature, culture, archaeology, and space. Best for children aged 6–14.
Gale in Context - Elementary Edition - Introduce elementary students to database searching with resources featuring age-appropriate, curriculum-related content.
Gale OneFile - Middle/High School Edition - Search magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference on a range of topics. Best for middle- and high-school students.
Poetry for Students - Great resource that provides analysis of the most frequently studied poems in literature courses.
TumbleBook Library - TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of e-books for children. They are a great way to encourage tech-savvy kids to enjoy reading! There are over 250 animated, talking picture books! The site also features Spanish and French books, read-along chapter books, non-fiction books, and exciting games and puzzles.
TeenBookCloud - TeenBookCloud is an online collection of enhanced novels, ebooks, graphic novels, videos, and audiobooks, which offers teens and adults of all reading levels access to an amazing range of content.
World Book Online - World Book Online is the premier online resource. The site has been optimized for tablets and features image-based navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of images and videos as well as a wealth of engaging games, science projects, and activities.
[Back to Top]General Research
AtoZ Food America - AtoZ Food America contains recipes in all course categories (appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, snacks, and beverages) for six US regions, all 50 states, and 33 ethnic cuisines.
AtoZ World Foods - AtoZ World Food is the only food database that contains traditional recipes for 174 countries of the world in all course categories: appetizers, soups, salads, breads, main courses, side dishes, desserts, snacks, and beverages.
Academic OneFile - Academic-level material material from nearly 12,000 of the world's leading journals and reference sources in both PDF and HTML full-text.
Biography in Context - Covers political, military, social, and cultural American history.
Gale Group InfoTrac Center - Find periodical and reference articles from several online databases such as Business and Company Resource Center, Computer, General Reference, General Science, Vocation, Careers & Technology, and Communications and Mass Media.
Gale Virtual Reference Library - This resource of popular Gale Press references in e-book format covers topics ranging from history to science to literature and includes titles such as American Decades, Chemical Elements, Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine and Literary Movements.
National Geographic - EXPLORE like never before.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context - Information and opinions on hundreds of today's most current social issues, and links to vetted web sites.
Salem History - Includes complete content of printed, reference sets.
Salem Literature - Critical Insights Series containing analytical essays on authors and works.
Salem Science - Includes complete content of printed, reference sets.
Newspapers.com - The New Mexico Collection is easy and convenient to search or browse to find news, notices of births, marriages and deaths, sports, comics and much more. High quality digital images and powerful viewer provide the best look at these historical papers and make it easy to print, save and share what you find.
Fold3® - Provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
HeritageQuest® Online - A comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources-rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, convenient research guides, interactive census maps, and more.
[Back to Top]
Do-it-Yourself
Chilton Library - Authoritative automotive repair information, covering most popular vehicles of past 30 years.
Magill's Medical Guide - Salem Press Health Database.
E-Reference
[Back to Top]
ELIN
Additional Databases brought to you by the Estacado Library Information Network such as:
- Literary Reference Center - Contains full-text for more than 35,000 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; literary criticisms, author bios and more.
- Newsbank InfoWeb - Access to Albuquerque Journal, Las Cruces Sun, and the Roswell Daily Record.
Click the ELIN icon to access these databases and many more!